For more information contact
Service BC Contact Centre

Translations and Data Sets

BC Stats maintains files for translating various data across administrative regions. These files can be accessed through the BC Stats website directly.


Translation of Place Names to BC Administrative Regions (updated August 2011)

Translation of Indian Reserves to BC Administrative Regions (updated August 2011)

Correspondence table between Health Geographies

GIS Downloads:

Shapefiles of BC's administrative areas are available in Albers (NAD83) coordinates.

The files are in zip format and include both the shapefile and a metadata record. You will need GIS software to view the shapefiles, such as ArcGIS, ArcGIS Explorer or Quantum GIS.

File Description:


Development Regions (Economic Regions)

There are 8 Development Regions (DR) in the province which are aggregates of Regional Districts, or Census Divisions. The boundaries are essentially static, following established geographic regions and natural physical constraints. The DRs reflect an attempt to represent homogeneous areas irrespective of population density.

Census Divisions (Regional Districts)

In British Columbia the Census Divisions (CDs) are comprised of one unorganized region (Stikine), and 28 Regional Districts which have local government functions. CD boundaries follow Regional Districts so they are affected by Regional District boundary changes, such as extensions, reductions, name changes, and newly created Regional Districts.

2011: SHP, KML

2006: SHP, KML

2001: SHP, KML

1996: SHP, KML

Census Subdivisions (Municipalities)

As the name implies, a Census Subdivision (CSD) is a sub-unit of a Census Division. Any incorporated municipality including a City (C), District Municipality (DM), Town (T), or Village (VL) is by definition a CSD. Some Indian Reserves (IRs) and other native land areas, such as Settlements (SEs) and Indian Government Districts (IGDs), also have CSD status. The remaining unorganized areas in a CD are then aggregated into further CSDs designated as Regional District Electoral Areas (RDEAs). These aggregations represent the RDEAs as determined at the time of the census. There are currently 29 CDs and 743 CSDs. CSD boundaries follow municipalities so they are modified by municipal boundary changes. These changes can take the form of extensions, reductions, new incorporations, or name changes. Note that the numeric value of a CSD has no meaning unless it is associated with its CD value.

2011: SHP, KML

2006: SHP, KML

2001: SHP, KML

1996: SHP, KML

Health Boundaries

In April 1997, the Ministry of Health redefined the provincial health regions as Local Health Areas (LHAs). The 89 LHAs aggregate up to the 16 regional Health Service Delivery Areas (HSDAs) which aggregate to the 5 Health Authorities (HAs).




School Districts

A School District (SD) is a geographic area created or constituted as a School District by or under the School Act for the purposes of educational administration. The boundaries are determined by order of the Lieutenant Governor in Council and each is governed by an elected board of school trustees. There are 59 School Districts in the province as of December 2, 1996.

College Regions

There are 15 College Regions in the province, which are the responsibility of the Ministry of Advanced Education & Labour Market Development. They are generally named for the largest university/college in the region. The boundaries, in most cases, follow School Districts or aggregates of School Districts. These regions are primarily used for administrative purposes.



Provincial Electoral Districts
The boundaries for the Provincial Electoral Districts (PEDs) change every ten years based on population distribution. The current boundaries are based on the 2006 Census population distribution. The new boundaries are determined by an appointed commission and are the responsibility of Elections BC.


2009: SHP, KML

1999: SHP, KML