For more information contact
Service BC Contact Centre

Reference Maps

Reference maps show the location of geographic areas for which census data are tabulated and disseminated. The maps display the boundaries, names, and codes of standard geographic areas, as well as major cultural and physical features such as roads, railways, coastlines, rivers and lakes.

Interactive Census Geographies

The interactive map below contains an embedding of the Census geographies. Use the zoom control on the left of the frame to update the viewing resolution and click on any of the jurisdictions to obtain more detail. This is particularly useful if you wish to establish the boundaries in highly urban areas (say, at street level).

Census Boundaries

The Census boundaries follow a nested hierarchy. Census Subdivisions (CSDs; not listed here) aggregate to Census Division (CDs; also called Regional Districts/RDs), which then aggregate to Economic Regions (ERs; also called Development Regions/DRs).

Please find below individual maps of all the DRs and RDs.

Development Regions

Development Regions

Simple 8.5" x 11"

Detailed wall-size (Printed $50)

Regional Districts

Regional Districts

Simple 8.5" x 11"

Detailed wall-size (Printed $50)

1 Vancouver Island/Coast
17 Capital

19 Cowichan Valley

21 Nanaimo

23 Alberni-Clayoquot

24 Strathcona

26 Comox Valley

27 Powell River

43 Mount Waddington

45 Central Coast
2 Mainland/Southwest
09 Fraser Valley

15 Greater Vancouver

29 Sunshine Coast

31 Squamish-Lillooet
3 Thompson/Okanagan
07 Okanagan-Similkameen

33 Thompson-Nicola

35 Central Okanagan

37 North Okanagan

39 Columbia-Shuswap
4 Kootenay
01 East Kootenay

03 Central Kootenay

05 Kootenay Boundary
5 Cariboo
41 Cariboo

53 Fraser-Fort George
6 North Coast
47 Skeena-Queen Charlotte

49 Kitimat-Stikine
7 Nechako
51 Bulkley-Nechako

57 Stikine
8 Northeast
55 Peace River

59 Northern Rockies